Working Group

Microbial TWG

The Microbial Ecology Sampling Program encompasses measurements of soil and aquatic microbial diversity, composition, and abundances that are deemed critical for understanding long-term changes in biodiversity and ecosystem function. The tools used for measuring microbial diversity in the environment develop and change rapidly. NEON relies on input and guidance from the Microbial Technical Working Group to advise on questions related to methods and analyses, as well as best practices for ensuring data quality, accessibility, and usability.

If you have questions or comments for this working group, please contact Hugh Cross using the Contact Us form.

Learn more about how to join this group or nominate someone to join this group.

Current Membership

Name Affiliation Role
Naupaka Zimmerman University of San Francisco Chair
Hugh Cross Battelle Lead
Gary King Louisiana State University Member
James Tiedje Michigan State University Member
Aditi Sengupta California Lutheran University Member
Renee Richer Duke Kunshan University Member
Charlotte Norris Natural Resources Canada Member
Dawson Fairbanks University of Arizona Member
Jeff Blanchard University of Massachusetts Amherst Member
Gregory Pec University of Nebraska Kearney Member
Debjani Sihi Emory University Member
Amber Arias Battelle Member
Amy Jacobs Battelle Member